The Leonardo da Vinci Award


Dr. Ricardo Garcia-Mayoral

Stanford University, USA

ERCOFTAC Chairman, Prof. Anthony G Hutton and Dr. Ricardo Garcia-Mayoral of Stanford University

Giambiagi Lecture Hall , ICTP, Trieste, Italy

25 October 2012

The 2012 da Vinci Competition was held during the first day of the Autumn Festival , 25 October 2012, at the Giambiagi Lecture Hall.

Each presentation was 20 minutes long and the order described below.

There were five finalists, their names, current affiliations, and respective presentation titles as provided below:

Dr. Tobias Kempe , TU Dresden , Germany

A numerical method for the investigation of turbulence induced sediment, erosion and transport

Dr. Ricardo Garcia-Mayoral, Stanford University, USA

The interaction of riblets with wall-bounded turbulence

Dr. Lihao Zhao , NUTU, Norway

Particles in wall turbulence

Dr. Andrea Cimarelli , Univ. of Bologna, Italy

Scale-energy paths and modeling approaches in wall-turbulence

Dr Andreas Carlson, KTH, Sweden

Modeling and experiments of dynamic wetting