United Kingdom

Purpose and focus of the Pilot Centre

The UK Pilot Centre for ERCOFTAC is at the UK Fluids Network. 

Dr. Matthew Juniper
Department of Engineering
Trumpington Street


The role of the Pilot Centre is to draw together and foster the ERCOFTAC community within the UK, promoting both communication and information exchange on all Flow, Turbulence and Combustion (FTAC) matters and building membership value; reach out to young researchers in order to stimulate and engage their interest in pursuing rewarding careers in applied fluid dynamics, and to deliver and enhance value to industry drawn from the ERCOFTAC community of leading research groups in flow, turbulence and combustion.  

Current activities of the PC include:

The Annual Osborne Reynolds Research Student Award

The annual Osborne Reynolds Research Student Award is organised by the UK Pilot Centre and was launched in 2002. Since then, it has gained enormously in prestige and is now regarded as one of the highlights in the UK FTAC calendar. The Award recognises the quality of young Researchers studying applied fluid dynamics in the UK and their ability to communicate their work.  

QNET Knowledge Base WIKI

We are in the process of updating the ERCOFTAC Knowledge Base WIKI, including the removal of access restrictions to Gold articles.

UK Fluids Network

We are pleased to work alongside the UK Fluids Network to promote research and knowledge sharing in the UK.  

Related Events

16th ERCOFTAC Osborne Reynolds Day

Date: 03/09/2018 Location: The University of Manchester, United Kingdom Organiser:  The University of Manchester Coordinators:  Dr Imran Afgan, Prof Michael Leschziner The extended deadline for submission of summaries is  Friday, the 15th of June, 2018 (5.00 pm)

3 Sep 2018

Related News

16th ERCOFTAC Osborne Reynolds Day - final call for submissions

The extended deadline for submission of summaries is  Friday, the 15 th of June, 2018 (5.00 pm) .  All entrants are urged to make their submissions as attractive as possible as that is the principal basis for choosing the finalists.  Entrants will be notified regarding the

20 May 2018