

8<sup>th</sup> Osborne Reynolds Colloquium and Research Student Award

Department of Aerospace Sciences, Cranfield University, Cranfield Campus, Bedfordshire, 24<sup>th</sup> June 2010

The 8<sup>th</sup> Osborne Reynolds Research Student Award is organised by the UK Pilot Centre of ERCOFTAC.

This prestigious Award recognises the quality of young researchers studying fluid dynamics, acoustics, combustion or turbulence in the UK and their ability to communicate their work.

You are encouraged to enter the award competition if:

• You are a PhD student currently studying in the UK <u>or</u> you have been awarded a PhD degree from a UK University after 1<sup>st</sup> January 2009.

• Your research topic can be in any specialisation - areas of "applied" fluid mechanics or the "physics of flows" are particularly welcome.

The award finalists, who will be selected from entrants on the basis of submitted abstracts, will be invited to present their work at Cranfield University, Thursday 24<sup>th</sup> June 2010.

Travel costs to and from the venue will be met by the sponsors. The presentations will be judged by a panel of eminent researchers. The winner will be awarded the 2010 Osborne Reynolds Prize of £400, and the runner-up will receive £100. Five finalists will receive a certificate of merit in recognition of their effort. In addition, the three highest ranked finalists will be entered into the European wide 2010 da Vinci award.

Entrants are requested to submit a 3-page long extended abstract, including relevant figures, results and key objectives of their research. The abstracts should be in electronic format and submitted to Dr. Iain Barton, BAE Systems, (iain.barton@baesystems.com). Previous entrants may reapply if they still qualify.

## For further information:

Dr. I. Barton, Advanced Technology Centre BAE Systems, Filton, Bristol. iain.barton@baesystems.com

## Deadlines

Submission of Abstracts: $23^{rd}$  April 2010Selection of Finalists: $23^{rd}$  May 2010



Osborne Reynolds (1842-1912): Scientist, Engineer and Pioneer. Professor of Engineering, The Victoria University of Manchester (1868-1905). Fellow of the Royal Society (1877)



